Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Sorry for the late post again, still busy with work ^^

Anyway, I went to my first Hobby Complex event last week and met up with TokyoHunter, KenLee, Danny Choo and Gordon. They have their coverage of the events too, check it out. Thanks to those also that link back to my blog despite my lack of update lately.

The event was much smaller compare to Wonder Festival, but still it is big enough that I only manage to take half of the booths before I’m tired and went back.

Too bad most of the stuff in the event are resin then pvc models. You really need a lot of time, dedication and skills to pull it off. Here are some videos on YouTube if you are interested. For me I prefer this type of event, as I’m more interested in taking photos. Resin kits are usually more detailed too which are great for macro photography.

The first image above is my favorite resin Gwendolyn (Odin Sphere) from the event, just look at the amount of detail went into it (semi translucent wings, armor, face).

For the rest I have hand pick the best shots I have from my collection. You can view the entire collection on my Flickr account (including some nsfw which need correct level to view). See the rest after the jump …

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

O_O' Please see this in full detail ... just plain awesome

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

Hobby Complex 2008

See you next year and Happy New Year!

Looks like my experimentation with indoors photography works. Get a big ass flashgun, a flash diffuser and pump the flash EV. This gives you enough light to increase the aperture thus increasing the depth-of-field area so all the figure are in focus.

I thought all the photo where ok at best from my DSLR LCD monitor until I went back and see it on my MacBook Pro LCD that is was much better.

Alright, I got to start my final check before I fly back for holiday.

Happy New Year!

4 responses to “Hobby Complex 2008

  1. @k: Wow that was quick hehe. Thanks.

  2. Each time I see that first figure of Gwendolyn, I still get reminded how amazing her wings are in that particular figure.

  3. @Panther: Wish PVC can do something like this (>人<;)

Leave a Reply

