Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

Today I meet up with Tokyo Hunter again at Akihabara for some shopping, I found out from him that there is the Uchimizukko event soon. I miss it last year and I didn’t have my camera with me then, so I rushed all the way back to get it.

What is Uchimizukko?

I’m not sure why they called it that (anyone?) but it is a old custom of sprinkling water with a bucket of water on the street to cool it down. More about it here and last year Uchimizu coverage by Danny Choo and Tokyo Hunter.

Uchimizukko 2008

Supposedly cool down the surrounding temperature by 2 Celcius

The Uchimizukko event start off at Kanda Miyoji and then later on at Akihabara Station, Yodobashi-Akiba and Fujisoft(?).

Uchimizukko 2008

The start of the event, Kanda Miyoji

Uchimizukko 2008

Another view of Kanda Miyoji (sides)

Uchimizukko 2008

Holy cooling water?

Uchimizukko 2008

These are called "oke" where it will be filled with water

Uchimizukko 2008

I wonder who is the lucky owner of that bicycle that is going to be blessed

Uchimizukko 2008

Akihabara maids getting ready

Uchimizukko 2008

The priest start first

Uchimizukko 2008

Oh! Chun-Li's, I promised there will be more of them soon

Uchimizukko 2008

..and the rest

Uchimizukko 2008

cute! (^_^)

Uchimizukko 2008

They will go into the temple now for praying

Before I go further, some of the photo below are badly frame or some guy shadowing. There are a lot of press attending this time and they block everything. I have to try and squish in to take the photos, I want a Metal Gear Mk. II with DSLR camera addon!

Uchimizukko 2008

Shoo shoo.. 😐

Uchimizukko 2008

Some speech first.. (Street Fighther IV for all!! :P)

Uchimizukko 2008

Here comes the maid

Uchimizukko 2008

I never went to maid cafe before so I could not identify them

Uchimizukko 2008

Nice doll hat (left)

Uchimizukko 2008

That blurred square thing is a thermometer

Uchimizukko 2008

Lovely maids, love the kimono type 😀

Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

Waiting for signal

Uchimizukko 2008

.. and go!

Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

Later on they get closer to the center

Uchimizukko 2008

.. and so does the press, sorry bout the right corner shadow

Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

Done! It does feels a bit cooler

Uchimizukko 2008

Oh? more? Yes please..

Uchimizukko 2008

No pesky press now 😀

Uchimizukko 2008

Cool me down hehe

Uchimizukko 2008

She is cute 🙂

Uchimizukko 2008

If I were to choose one maid from all, I probably choose her

Uchimizukko 2008

Street Fighter Team?

Uchimizukko 2008

More Chun-Li's

After this, I went to the next event which will be held Akihabara Station. Looks like not all the maid will be present, in this case only her.

Uchimizukko 2008

Looks like not all the maid will be present

Uchimizukko 2008

They were asking the public now to help throw the water

Uchimizukko 2008

The bottle was holy water from the Kanda Miyoji

Uchimizukko 2008

Uchimizukko 2008

THE END

That is all for now, this is only the start of the summer event in Japan. I have another roll of fireworks picture up for process and blog.

4 responses to “Uchimizukko 2008

  1. Pingback: 15% of Akiba (and more beer) at Moé Moé Rabu

  2. omg – how on earth did i miss hanging out with u guys while living in akiba for 3 months! u make the place seem a hell of a lot more lively!

    really love yr photography!

  3. @Chinarut: Thanks for visiting and comments ^^. We could meet up sometimes when I drop by Akiba next time.

Leave a Reply

