Akiba Weekend


SONY DSLR-A100 with Tamron 18-250mm
[18mm @ ISO 100, 1/40 sec, f/8.0] and C-PL filter

It’s been a while since my last visit to Akihabara, usually I just go to Yodobashi-Akiba grab my stuff and go back (convenient and fast). Decided to drop by the ol’ Akiba again today to grab my copy of Heavenly Sword and Warhawk for my PS3 which is in a serious need of a workout.

Yesterday Messeh Sannoh (one of games import shops in Akiba) updated their stock website with Heavenly Sword and Warhawk. My PS3 literally screams like a 5 year old girl (ok not that literally LOL) and begging me to get it. After spending ¥8800 and ¥9800 for Heavenly Sword and Warhawk respectively I finally got it.


[50mm @ ISO 400, 1/80 sec, f/8.0] and HVL-F56AM strobe bouncing off celling


Warhawk with bundled Jabra BT125 Bluetooth® headset
[180mm @ ISO 400, 1/125 sec, f/8.0] and HVL-F56AM strobe bouncing off celling

Yes, it is expensive but both of these titles are slate for end of the year release in Japan and I cannot wait any longer. Also Warhawk will be only release in PlayStation online store 😦 for Japan, no box set, no BT headset. I’m a sucker for boxset haha.

After I got my games, I have a quick Udon lunch and get a long overdue haircut at QB House for a mere ¥1000.


[40mm @ ISO 400, 1/80 sec, f/5.6]

See… not everything in Japan is expensive as people might have imagine. At least not when comes to haircut. But they don’t offer those fancy massage, shampoo and style your hair.. etc. Just hair-c-u-t. No fuss, quick 10min, and be done with it. If you are wondering about the left over hairs, they use vacuum to suck it out instead of washing. Yes, a vacuum. It works well though.

I remember Sofmap opened a new megastore, so I went to give a quick visit. Sofmap literally invades Akiba now as you can see from the pictures below.


Old Sofmap store which has moved to the new building
[18mm @ ISO 125, 1/30 sec, f/5.6] with C-PL filter


Another one on the corner
[50mm @ ISO 100, 1/50 sec, f/5.6] with C-PL filter


[40mm @ ISO 400, 1/80 sec, f/13.0] with C-PL filter


[35mm @ ISO 100, 1/60 sec, f/13.0] with C-PL filter


Here is the new Sofmap megastore
[18mm @ ISO 100, 1/125 sec, f/11.0] with C-PL filter


[28mm @ ISO 100, 1/80 sec, f/11.0] with C-PL filter

I gave a quick tour around the new megastore, kinda like Yodobashi-Akiba, but space is narrower compare to Yodobashi. What I like is their gaming floor, which is way less crowded than Yodobashi. It’s nice, but still I prefer Yodobashi as they offer more wide range of product.


[45mm @ ISO 400, 1/80 sec, f/8.0] and HVL-F56AM strobe bouncing off celling


[50mm @ ISO 400, 1/80 sec, f/8.0] and HVL-F56AM strobe bouncing off celling

I got this from Sofmap, yes I finally got my first ever HCM Pro SP (Special Painted). It is MSN-04 SAZABI, with cool metallic paint. I will review this later on.

Alright, Nariko from Heavenly Sword is calling me now. Next week is going to be pretty busy with Tokyo Game Show 2007 starting. So I better enjoy my long weekend while I can. 😉

3 responses to “Akiba Weekend

  1. Hey, which day would you be at the show ? :]

  2. @blauereiter: Well I plan to go on the business/press day and public as well. As for the business/press day I can only make it on Thursday as I have nomikai for one of my colleague leaving on Friday. There is no fix on public day yet, I can go on either day. When are you guys going? 🙂

  3. wah lao, sazabi!!!!! how much you bought? i m also start to fall in love with those fix figure!!!

Leave a Reply

