Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 AF Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro

Finally got myself to get the new Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 AF Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro (boy that was long) lens for my Sony DSLR A-100 camera at Yodobashi-Akiba. This will replace my previously good Sigma 18-50 mm f/2.8 DC EX lens. Why the switched? Read on…

First of all, I wont be doing a in-depth review on the lens, the internet has done it for me at BobAtkins.com which covers everything. Together with this review and rave comments by users itself at Digital Photography Review forum I made up my decision to get it. For the next couple of weeks there is going to be a whole lot of events happening and I can’t afford to miss any of those action due to range. If you have seen Japan crowds, you should know it is not an easy task to navigate around them.

These are some of the features I like about this lens:

  • Wide focal range, from 18mm-250mm (13.9x zoom)
  • Minimum focus range at 45cm on all focal range with Macro capability up to 1:3.5, which is pretty good for a superzoom lens.
  • Good Image Quality (IQ) according to reviews and my initial few tries on it.
  • All-in-one solution with good IQ, avoiding changing lens. I got sensor dust phobia on my last attempt cleaning the sensor until it was sent back to Sony for professional cleaning 😦

And when compared to my old SIGMA:

  • Slow focus, fairly quite but accurate auto-focus (AF)!
    My old SIGMA tends to “hunt” for focus a lot and this has been really driving me nuts. The only way to counter that is using spot focus (center focus) or manual focus.
  • Lighter!
    Any weight reduction is good for the already heavyweight camera
  • Extra 15cm added to the minimum focus range and slower (or darker)
    My old SIGMA was able to go up to 30cm for minimum focus range so I can approach the subject closer and brighter/faster because of the larger aperture F/2.8.
  • Unwanted lens barrel extension
    This was expected for a superzoom lens due to the longer barrel. Not much of a problem for me since you can zoom lock on the barrel to avoid unwanted extension when moving around.

Alright, after I’m officially broke getting that, I switched the lens right away and went out to Akiba for the first shot. Nice, there is some live Akiba idol but, Oh oh… cloudy sky. 😐


Bunny The Park band, O_O did I saw JUDY AND MARY there?
75.0mm @ 1/200s, f/5.6, ISO 400


30.0mm @ 1/200s, f/4.5, ISO 250


110.0mm @ 1/200s, f/6.3, ISO 400


100.0mm @ 1/100s, f/6.3, ISO 320


90.0mm @ 1/100s, f/5.6, ISO 125

I head back after that, and took some more shots outside the station


18.0mm @ 1/30s, f/8.0, ISO 160


250.0mm @ 1/50s, f/8.0, ISO 400


135.0mm @ 1/80s, f/8.0, ISO 400

I’m pretty happy with Tamron overall. I really like the fact that I can really zoom up when needed (almost always when I’m outside). Real field test will be tomorrow when I go to Chara Hobby and bring in the Gundam goodness 🙂

9 responses to “Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 AF Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro

  1. haha yo man, at last you got urself a zoom lens. FINALLY!!! As a going to be PRO DLSR user, you have to get urself a zoom lens which most compact camera is lack of.. ZOOM.. ZOOM will be ur best fren in crowded places and far unreachable object… Remember take more nice photo for us to see hehe.. about Japan of coz…

  2. Been wanting to ask – Why is the ‘lens hood’ on the opposite direction? Or is it just a method to store it? And is that a lens hood anyway?

    A 18-250mm lens. That’s a pretty wide focal range. I’m still using my 18-55mm (kit lens) on my EOS 400D :/

  3. @windbell: It is how they store the lens hood when not in use 🙂
    Should be the same with all the lens hood I think. Just turn it upside down and it should be able to lock into it like normal.

    Yeah, 18-250mm pretty much cover up all the range most people required but alas its not comparable to those dedicated prime lens and zoom lens in terms of speed and image quality. It is close though.

    After taking some more shots at Chara Hobby I noticed some vignette on all the focal range when wide open. Stopping it down to 1/3 helps it. Nothing to serious there since all this can be corrected by any image editing software

  4. I wish my camera had that long focal range! I was planning to get a Tamron Macro lens months ago, but I rarely go outside of Nikon, but I may have to check them out now. Good photos!

  5. Thanks for the heads up!

    It’s pretty cool still. Wonder how would the Canon ones look like ^^;

  6. hi.. is this okay with nikon cams too?? im planning to buy one for my nikon d40… im just concerned with the soft focus issues of tammy lenses when used with nikon.. is this really true?/ thanks hope you could help me on this…

  7. @christianne: Tamron have nikon mount version of this too, so you need to look for it.

    But after a couple of research, it seems that your D40 is a bit different. The differences is in the mount itself where the pin that controls the Auto Focus is not there or moved.

    Don’t worry, it seems that Tamron did come out with a version with built-in Auto Focus. The model for this is: Tamron AF18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 Di-II LD (model A18N II)

    I recommend that you go to store and check them yourself to see if it is compatible with your D40.

    About the softness, for this type of lens I find it to be very good. Just be careful about using it fully open (large aperture, e.g. f/3.5).

    Sorry I could only help this much, I don’t have any Nikon camera to compare with. Good luck in your search!

  8. hi there, have you noticed that the lens is slow to focus at all?

  9. I use this lense a lot for capturing wild life and the first time I used it I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. The autofocus mode is quick for those split second opportunity shots. It also does well as a macro lense so it serves a dual purpose. Did I also mention that I am just an amateur photographer? This lense is really easy to use too!

Leave a Reply

